Advanced VPN/NON-VPN Router/OS Configuration

I’m a novice, so bear with me. I’m hoping someone can help me configure VyprVPN and change my router configuration to allow VPN connections, AND still be able to reach my http/https services at home from the internet.

Details:

Router: Asus RT-AC66U, Broadcom BCM5300 chip rev 1
Router Firmware: Tomato Shibby - 1.28.0000 MIPSR2-124 K26AC USB AIO-64K
Router VyprVPN Applet: v 0.6.0

I run a web server and Subsonic on my home computer, and I use DDNS so it can be accessed from the internet even if the IP changes. When I connect VyprVPN in the router configuration page, I obviously can’t connect to my home computer from the outside anymore.

I’ve never done this before, but I am guessing that I have to have to somehow create two separate networks and have my Windows PC use both at the same time? So, All of my outgoing connections are always encrypted through VyprVPN, but incoming connections to my web server are routed to a non-vpn segment on my network.

Any help on how to do this in Tomato/Windows would be appreciated.

Thanks!

• Lotus Roots

@lotusroots:

That is a really great question. Please give me a little bit of time to investigate that and I’ll get back to you.

Thanks,
Katie

Bumping this…

Katie - How’d your investigation go?

It would be great if I could even get a general description of how this is done. I can do some research and report back.

• LR

@lotusroots,

You may be able to connect to your VyprVPN IP Address to reach those services. First you need to make sure that you turn off the “NAT Firewall” feature on your VyprVPN account through our web based control panel (https://www.goldenfrog.com/login). Then with the proper port forwarding in place, it might work automatically. (Note: We’ve not tested this to be the case.)